About us

Production at Chester Little Theatre

Chester Little Theatre is Chester’s longest running theatre. We were formed in 1944 and our present venue in Gloucester Street was bought by the Members in 1962. The Theatre is entirely self-supporting and run by its members. We are a registered charity (CIO) No.1178159.

Each year we mount six productions to a high standard from a wide variety of plays in our raked Auditorium. In our updated Salisbury Studio, where we have flexible seating, we can put on more experimental theatre, including original writing, one act and full length plays with simpler settings. We have a loyal following of Supporters and season ticket holders. Our productions in the Auditorium and Studio are usually sold out. We are members of The Little Theatre Guild and the Cheshire Theatre Guild; our productions are frequently nominated and award-winning.

Whatever your experience, you are welcome to join Chester Little Theatre and get involved in a variety of activities, both on and off the stage. It could be acting or supporting productions as part of the stage management team, as technical designers and operators in lighting and sound, directing plays or working as part of the set designing, building and painting team. There is a host of interesting and creative roles to be filled.

During productions we rely on Members to assist in Front of House duties, as ushers, or bar and refreshment staff. We also welcome Supporters to help in the running of the Theatre at these busy times.

We have an experienced set-building, set-painting and prop-making team who welcome new members with a basic knowledge of woodwork and decorating. If you are interested in the technical aspect of theatre, our Technical Director will show you how to get involved in lighting and sound, not only in the main Auditorium but also in our newly equipped Salisbury Studio.

Our General Committee has a regular turn-over of members who are responsible for running the different areas of the theatre. We welcome new people on board to bring fresh ideas to areas such as Publicity, House Management, Stage Direction and so on. Members can also join the Committee as general representatives.

As an experienced or trainee director, you can join our Directors’ Committee which is responsible for choosing and directing our plays each season.

Our Members and Supporters can attend our Tuesday evening activities, such as play readings, workshops, quizzes and social evenings in the licensed bar.

So whatever your experience or particular interests, there’s plenty to involve yourself in - and you can be guaranteed a warm welcome at the Little Theatre!

Production at Chester Little Theatre

We offer the following facilities

  • A raked auditorium with comfortable seating for 126 people
  • An adaptable, well-equipped stage with matching technical facilities
  • The Salisbury Studio on the ground floor - a well-equipped, accessible space for smaller scale and experimental performances and workshops
  • A wardrobe of costumes from different periods
  • A well-equipped workshop for set-building and prop-making
  • Our own licensed bar, open to all members and visitors to the Theatre

We also have a Youth Theatre Group which welcomes youngsters between the ages of 12 to 18 - see Youth Theatre page for more details.


Listed below are the names and positions of our Main Committee and Directors’ Committee for 2018/19.

To get in touch with any member, please contact us.

The General Committee


  • Chair Margaret Bennett
  • Vice-Chair Alison Knott
  • Secretary Sue Elliott
  • Treasurer Marian Lovell
  • House Manager Malcolm Gledhill
  • Bar Manager Ray Bengree
  • Box Office Manager John Turner
  • Publicity Manager Ally Goodman
  • Membership Secretary Margaret Bennett
  • Technical Director Chris Evans
  • Wardrobe Supervisor Peter Russell
  • Stage Director Keith Long

Members’ Representatives

  • Jane Barth
  • Ann Massey
  • John McGinn
  • Pat Cameron
  • Charlie Nunez
  • Marjorie Walker

Youth Leaders

  • Charlie Nunez
  • Ruth Sutton

Directors’ Committee Representative

  • Jane Barth

Directors’ Committee

  • Jane Barth, Chair
  • Margaret Bennett
  • Mark Townend
  • Alison Knott
  • John Turner
  • Delyse Rostron
  • Lisa Miller
  • Charlie Nunez
  • Laura Elizabeth
  • Yvette Owen
  • Geoff Whipp